Deadline Approaches for Groves Awards Nominations

Alex McKeag, Friday, January 29, 2016

Nominations for the 2016 Groves Award for outstanding leadership and vision in the promotion of Transect-based planning are due March 1, 2016.

The Award, given jointly by the Transect Codes Council (TCC) and the Congress for the New Urbanism (CNU), honors the late Ken Groves.

Groves was the planning director of Montgomery, Alabama, where he is credited with leading one of the most ambitious redevelopment efforts in recent American history. First awarded in 2011, a year after Groves's death, the Award has gone to:

  • Ana Gelabert-Sanchez, Planning Director and Manny Diaz, Mayor, for Miami 21, the innovative rezoning effort in Miami, Florida
  • Mathew McElroy, Deputy Director of Planning and Economic Development for the City of El Paso, Texas
  • The Treasure Coast Regional Planning Council, a public agency in Florida instrumental in reversing regional sprawling development patterns
  • Rick Bernhardt, Executive Director of the Metro Nashville Planning Department in Nashville, Tennessee
  • Matthew Lewis, Assistant Director of Planning and Development Review – Urban Design and Long Range Planning for the City of Austin, Texas

Any public official or group, elected or staff, except for the sitting jury, is eligible for the Award. An entire planning department may be nominated. Nominations are welcome from any public or private sector planning professional, agency, firm or non-profit.

The winner will receive the Award at the annual gathering of the Congress for the New Urbanism, scheduled for June 8-11 in Detroit, Michigan.

For more information about the award and past winners, along with the rules and nomination form, visit the Center for Applied Transect Studies. For questions, contact Susan Henderson or Chad Emerson

Download the nominations form.

TWEETS #thisiscnu