Charter Awards Ceremony 2008

The Congress for the New Urbanism's Charter Awards program recognizes today's best work in urban design, architecture, development, and placemaking. Each year CNU convenes a jury of expert urbanists to review submissions and select the winning entries that best embody and advance the principles of the Charter of the New Urbanism. At the Charter Awards 2008 luncheon at CNU XVI in Austin, jury chair Andrés Duany and juror Victor Dover (next year's jury chair) presented awards to 14 professional winners and 1 student/faculty winner, providing illuminating commentary on the projects and their distinguishing characteristics. See that commentary in the following video recording, along with brief remarks from each winner. This year's jury also gave a special Jurors' Prize to the Jorge Perez Center at the University of Miami, designed by Léon Krier.
CharterAwardsSlideShow.pdf8.41 MB