2013 CNU Charter Awards

Call for Entries Now Open; New Digital Submission Process

Tags for this image:

The Call for Entires for the 2013 CNU Charter Awards is now open!  

Regarded as one of the preeminent global awards for excellence in urban design, the CNU Charter Awards honors a select number of winners and honorable mentions - including one grand professional prize, and one grand academic prize for students - across multiple categories from a competitive field of entries.

CNU convenes a jury of distinguished designers, architects, planners and scholars who review the entries and select the winners. Chairing this year's jury will be CNU Board Vice Chair Doug Farr, founding principal of Farr Associates and author of Sustainable Urbanism. (See the entire Jury by clicking here.)

 Winning projects are recognized for their excellence in fulfilling and advancing the principles of the Charter of the New Urbanism, which defines the essential qualities of walkable, sustainable places from the scale of the region down to the block and building. Recognizing outstanding architectural, landscape and urban designs built in harmony with their physical and social contexts, the Charter Awards have honored projects from Andorra to South Africa, Beijing to San Antonio.

This year, CNU has updated its submission process to allow for an easier, more intuitive experience. All entries will be accepted digitally via the brand new CNU Charter Awards website. Simply refer to the submission guidelines as you prep your project, create a login to the site and submit your entry. 

From the time of its establishment, the CNU Charter Awards has come to influence the ways in which cities, towns and regions approach development and design, and is the only interdisciplinary award that honors the full context of contemporary projects integrated within their communities. Now's your chance to leave your mark on the world. 

The Call for Entries will close on January 30, 2013. 

Submit your entry today.



Target proudly sponsors winning prizes of Charter Awards winners.

  • $5000 for Grand Prize Winner
  • $3000 for Academic Prize Winner