Winners of First-Ever CNU Board Elections

Three Board Members Directly Elected at CNU 20

Tags for this image:

For the first time in our 20 years, CNU conducted member-led elections for seats on the Board of Directors. Online voting began March 5, 2012 and ran through May 11, 2012, with winners announced at CNU 20 on May 12, 2012.

The winners of the 2012 Board Elections are Eliza Harris, John Massengale, and Mathew McElory.

Eliza Harris

Eliza Harris is a planner at Canin Associates from Orlando, FL. During the course of her undergraduate degree in Biochemical Sciences at Harvard College, Eliza encountered the New Urbanism in the Liberal Arts course “Designing the American City”. It immediately resonated with her experiences growing up both in Manhattan and in suburban South Carolina, and she vowed that no teen should be trapped in sprawl again. Before completing a Masters of Urban Planning Degree at the Harvard School of Design, she had the privilege of interning with City of Charleston Planning and Neighborhood Design and for Cornish Associates of Mashpee Commons and Providence, RI. Eliza is a Senior Associate at Canin Associates in Orlando where she focuses on transportation and regional planning. She led the development of a new approach that elevated land use and incorporated urban design into the tri-county Long Range Transportation Plan.

Attending every Congress since Chicago, she quickly took on leadership roles in local chapters and CNU's national young professional organization, the Next Generation of New Urbanists. She has served as NextGen liaison to the Program Committee since CNU 17 and for CNU 20 she is serving in several roles on the Local Host Committee including creating and administering the Open Innovation Track.


John Massengale


John Massengale is an architect at Massengale & Co LLC from New York, NY. Massengale has won awards for architecture, urban design, historic preservation and architectural history. New York 1900 was the first architecture history book nominated for a National Book Award. In 1992, Massengale won the first Progressive Architecture New Public Realm award with a Subway Suburb in the South Bronx, and a year later a house he designed won prizes from 3 chapters of the AIA and Hudson Valley. After serving as Seaside Town Architect in 1986, he was awarded a Seaside 20th Anniversary Medal.

John Massengale has collaborated with leading New Urbanists and Classical architects around the country, but his primary focus is on regional architecture and urbanism in the northeast. He was a joint venture partner on both the first New Urban TND design and the first New Urban infill project in Connecticut. He took part in the first New Urban charrette in New York State, was on the team that made the first form-based code in New York, and was a joint venture partner in the team that wrote the first SmartCode for Maine. A lifelong fan of the New York Yankees, he was also a part of the team that invented the Green Monster seats at Fenway Park.


Mathew McElroy

Mathew McElroy, AICP, CNU-A, is Deputy Director of the Planning and Economic Development Department for the City of El Paso. Mathew is a University of Texas at El Paso graduate of the English (BA) (1997), Master in Public Administration (2000), and Master of Science in Economics (2008) programs. Mathew oversees the Planning Division, where he has grown membership in the CNU in El Paso from three people two years ago to what will be over 150 by May of 2012 and will have trained approximately 150 people to sit for and pass the CNU-A exam (city-planners, engineers, private developers, private consulting engineers). Prior to joining the city of El Paso, he served as the Associate Director of the Institute for Policy and Economic Development (IPED) at the University of Texas at El Paso. In his work at IPED, Mathew oversaw research operations. His work extended from redevelopment studies and housing to econometric forecasting, input-output based economic impact analysis, and geographic information systems (GIS). In his final year at UTEP, he co-led the team that won the Council for Community and Economic Research (C2ER) National Award for Excellence in Policy Analysis for a binational industry cluster study.