Mathew McElroy Named 2012 Groves Award Recipient

City of El Paso Planner to Receive Award for Outstanding Leadership and Vision in the Promotion of Transect-Based Planning

Tags for this image:


The Groves Award for outstanding leadership and vision by a public official in the promotion of Transect-based planning is given jointly by the Transect Codes Council and the Congress for the New Urbanism. The award was created in honor of Ken Groves, the late Planning Director of the City of Montgomery, Alabama. His leadership in using land development and planning to create better communities is a gift that he left for all. Through his vision and persistence, Alabama's capital city began its journey back to prominence and sustainability.

Mathew McElroy, Deputy Director of Planning and Economic Development in the City of El Paso, will be the 2012 recipient of the Groves Award. The award recognizes outstanding leadership and vision in the promotion of transect-based planning and will be presented this year at the 20th Congress for the New Urbanism in West Palm Beach, Florida at the Friday Morning Plenary, May 11, 2012, 9:00AM to 10:15AM.

McElroy was unanimously selected by the jury this year due to his leadership and commitment in adopting New Urban and Transect-based plans, including the new city-wide Comprehensive Plan Plan El Paso; leadership in multiple SmartCode re-zonings throughout the City of El Paso; his commitment to CNU-accreditation; and his reform of El Paso's conventional subdivision regulations.

This year's jury consisted of Paul Crabtree, Crabtree Group Inc; Chad Emerson, City of Montgomery; Ana Gelabert-Sanchez, Former Planning Director of the City of Miami and co-recipient of the 2011 Groves Award; Marina Khoury, Duany Plater-Zyberk & Company; Jason King, Dover, Kohl & Partners; Nathan Norris, PlaceMakers; and Sandy Sorlien, Smartcode Local. Jason King and Nathan Norris abstained from the vote given that they worked closely with McElroy in the past.

Register for CNU 20 now and attend the Friday Morning Plenary, May 11, 2012, 9:00AM to 10:15AM, to see McElroy accept the honor of the 2012 Groves Award.

And learn more about McElroy's accomplishments by downloading the Transect Codes Council press release on McElroy's honor.