The Driehaus Form-Based Codes Award

Form-Based Codes Institute Call for Submissions, Deadline Feb. 28, 2007

Tags for this image:

The Board of Directors of the Form-Based Codes Institute (FBCI) takes pleasure in announcing the first award specifically for achievement in the writing and implementation of Form-Based Codes. Form-Based Codes are defined as a method of regulating development to achieve a specific urban form. They create a predictable public realm by controlling physical form primarily and land uses secondarily.

Entries should foster built results consistent with a masterplan or advance the field of Form-Based Code writing. Submitted codes must have been adopted into law by a unit of local government.

Awards Jury
Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk (Jury Chair)
Dean, University of Miami School of Architecture Principal, Duany Plater-Zyberk & Company
Miami, FL

Rick Bernhardt, FAICP
Executive Director, Metro Planning Department
Nashville, TN

Paul Crawford, FAICP
Principal, Crawford Multari & Clark Associates
San Luis Obispo, CA

Award recipients will be announced at a plenary session of the Congress for the New Urbanism’s fifteenth annual meeting -- May 17-20, 2007, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Additionally, winning entries will appear on the FBCI Web site.

Deadline/Submission Information
Submissions must be received by FBCI no later than Wednesday, February 28, 2007. Entries may be submitted by any interested party. There is no entry fee. For complete information and full submission requirements, go to the FBCI Web site: